Final Thoughts

 

       Well, to all of my readers and viewers, it looks like this is going to be my last blog post of here, at least for a while anyway. As you know, I am a college student at Chadron State College in Chadron, Nebraska; therefore, you may also know that the school year is wrapping up  and all of the students part ways for the next three or four months. The feeling can be bittersweet for some people. I say this because the relief of being done with finals mixes in with the sad feeling of saying so long and farewell to the friends we have had for years and those who we came to know and become acquainted to throughout the year. I must say that I am in the same boat that I just described. I am very relieved to be done with my classes, except this one of course, and it has been sort of tough watching my friends leave for the summer, but I hold back the tears because, you know, that is the “manly” thing to do.

With this being the wrap up of my time in this class I would like to take a look back to give sort of a final reflection over the blogs I have posted to this point. First of all, I would like to discuss my independent learning project. I have had such a great time with this project. It was such a great learning experience for me as a student. For obvious reasons, I was able to partially learn some American Sign Language. However, another way I learn as a student was when I would be stuck and did not know what to do next. I felt comfortable with ASL, but I did not know of any other free resources to reach out to. I say ‘free’ because I am a college student, as you know, so I tried to stay away from buying books that I did not need to buy. If there came a time, though, where my brain was completely run dry of ideas I would definitely have bought a book. But, it was a good thing that the mental drought did not run that dry. When I thought I had learned all that there was to learn I thought I would reach out to those who read my blogs before and maybe could shed some light on my situation. Sure enough, I had some excellent classmates who read my blog and found some resources that kept me learning more and more for the next few weeks to finish out my ILP. So, I learned that, as a student, we can always get help from those around us.

The other things that I wrote about in these blogs were assignments we had for the class, but most of them I enjoyed writing. You see, in this class we tend to read articles that are very interesting and then we would write some reflections on them. So, when I read an article that really got my attention, I was excited to create a blog post about it. Throughout the class we wrote over many different topics, but most of them were about most of them covered the topic of education. This was great for me, and probably most, or all of, the students in the class, because we were able to become educated on what we would be getting into in the near future. These topics ranged from political issues that dealt with education to how students learning differently inside the classroom. All were great topics to be able to openly talk about with my classmates.

I have noticed, as I reread my work, was that the tone of my writing is inconsistently consistent. That may not make any sense to you, but allow me to explain. I noticed that I have two tones as a writer- completely serious and completely sarcastic. All of my blogs were full of both a serious attitude and a hint of sarcasm. I have never really noticed that I do it in every blog post until now. I really could not give you an explanation to that either; however, if I had to make an assumption, I would say that I probably did that to just lighten the mood a bit. I mean, most of what we wrote our blog posts about were from an article that covered a more serious topic of discussion, so I supposed I felt the need to take it back a few notches with sarcasm, but also let my voice be heard through being serious too. Now that I think about it, this is an important part of writing for me; especially when it comes to social media. When important issues come up on social media, like politics for example, most people, from what I see, are so serious and use such an angry tone. This just causes people to argue, which leads to division. I think have a serious, yet relaxed, tone is important to me as a writer.

This experience of using blogging to voice my opinions, share my stories, and just to simply speak to the world is definitely something that I am new to. I have done a few stints with it in the past, but this is definitely the longest I have participated in blogging, and that most consistent I have ever been with it. I enjoyed the time that I had being able to open up to the entire world. Personally, I think this had an effect on my writing. In other classes where I voice my opinion or thoughts on paper it is only seen by one other person, and that is the teacher. With this I am speaking to a crowd that consists of my classmates, my family, the town of Chadron, all of the United States, and even the whole world. I think this played a huge role in the tone of my writing throughout the semester.

To conclude, I would like to discuss how I have grown as a writer. I talked about how my writing has changed based on my audience and I have talked about how my voice is different because of that audience, but now I want to talk about how my writing has advanced throughout the semester. As I read through my early articles I noticed that my voice was sort timid. I felt a really shy tone as I read the words to myself. Then, as I was getting deeper and deeper into my blogs and doing it more often I could feel a more confident and opinionated voice come out and develop. This may be from becoming more comfortable with the audience I was dealing, because, as I mentioned before, I was used to speaking to one person when I would write. Now, after many hours of blogging, I have become comfortable with speaking my opinion and telling the world how I feel, and being confident about it. This does not mean that I intend to be offensive in my writing whatsoever, because I would like to avoid that at all costs. I want people from any faith, race, and political view to enjoy what I have to say without feeling offended in any way. With this, though, I am willing to take any criticism that my writing may receive, because that will only help me to improve my writing.

Thank you to everyone who has read my blog posts. I hope to continue this in the future.

Jacob Henderson

Leave a Reply

