ILP- Sign Language Update

Hello, fellow bloggers! If you have been following my blogs for the last ten weeks you know that I am attempting to learn American Sign Language, or ASL, for the second time. I had previously learned some of the language in sixth and seventh grade at school. I had so much fun with the experience, but I had gotten away from it for about the last seven years. It was difficult having it taught to me for the first time, but having to teach myself all over again has been even more difficult, and that is why I enjoy it! I love being challenged because the feeling of accomplishment feels a lot better once I have completed the task.

I have spent some time on my sign language app, which is called “The ASL App”. I have gone through all of it a few times and I have quizzed myself on what I have learned. I never purchased a book from Amazon.com because, well, I am a college student and I do not really have the funds to do so. I have also been on YouTube countless times and watched as many videos as I could. They were all very helpful in different ways. I started out watching very basic and elementary videos. Once I felt comfortable to move on to more advanced videos I did so. There were some that pushed my knowledge harder than I have pushed it before with this independent learning project. I found videos of college professors teaching entire classes using only sign language. I was able to somewhat following along by noticing signs here and there that I am familiar with and connecting the dots. However, I came to find that I was not ready for complete conversations using ASL.

So, from that point, I have taken my passion for this language back to more basic signs to ensure that I have them complete understood and able to recognize them as a single glance. I went to this website where I watched a video on the homepage, that I had watched on YouTube a few weeks ago, and then wondered around the site brushing up on my basic ASL signs.

This is where I am currently at in my learning. I am going to continue to more basic signs and then attempt to get into more advanced videos, because there are many out there. If there are signs I do not recognize I will note it, as I previously have, and find its meaning. In other words, I am pushing myself forward two steps and then taking a single step backwards to fill in the blanks.

If there are any suggestions you, the reader, might have for me please share in a comment below. This can be links to websites or videos, books that you find to be successful, or any studying tips that you may have for me.

Thank you for reading another blog of mine!

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “ILP- Sign Language Update

  1. Only being in the second 8 week part of this class I just want to say how awesome it is that you are learning sign language! My Aunt and Uncle are deaf and I always thought it was so cool to watch them sign. Although they would teach us a couple things that I can’t believe I still remember, we never got into full sentences or anything else. Kudos to you in your learning adventure!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I think it is an important language for me to learn as a future educator. I may have a student who is deaf or hard of hearing in my class, so it is important I can communicate with them! Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  2. Jacob, I’m glad you’re doing so well in your learning. I remember learning sign language in first grade, and I loved it! I somehow still remember how to sign happy birthday. My only tip would be to keep changing up how you are learning. This week, I went on a walk while learning rather than just sitting at a desk, and it was a nice change of pace. Happy signing!

    Like

  3. Jacob,
    I’m glad your independent learning is going well! I think that ASL will be a helpful tool to have as a future teacher! Even if you are not completely fluent, have a basic understanding could come in handy. Have you considered learning or focusing on classroom specific terms? I wonder how many common words used in the school setting could be learned in a short amount of time like this??

    Like

  4. I’m glad you’re learning a lot from your ILP. For block we had to go to Scottsbluff to attend several conferences and one of them happened to be an ASL conference. Although I didn’t attend that session, I had friends that did and we discussed it in class and she gave us the handouts they got. I will look over it and see if there is a website that you can go to that can help you out or I can also give you copies of them if you’d like.

    Like

      1. I didn’t know either! I kind of wish I would have attended it because it seemed like my classmates learned a lot from it. I’ll try to get back to you tomorrow about that handout hopefully it will be useful to you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

