Digital Literacy

According to http://connect.ala.org/node/181197#sthash.Zh1sQ2b1.dpuf “Digital Literacy is the ability to use information and communication technologies to find, evaluate, create, and communicate information, requiring both cognitive and technical skills.” In other words, digital literacy is having the skills necessary to operate technological devices. This can include computers, cell phones, tablets, or anything is controlled by technology. If you have the skills to do this you are considered “digitally literate”.

Now we have digital fluency. According to http://blog.core-ed.org/blog/2015/10/what-is-digital-fluency.html digital fluency is using technologies “readily and strategically to learn, to work, and to play, and the infusion of technology in teaching and learning to improve outcomes for all students”. This is saying that someone who is digitally fluent has the ability to teach others to be digitally literate. In the hierarchy of digitally knowledgeable people there are three steps.

The first step is digital proficiency. This is foundational knowledge, which is showing you can demonstrate the basic skills of using technology. After this is digital literacy, and is then at the top is digital fluency.

When it comes to digital literacy I believe that I have some skills that I know well enough, or have the skills necessary to operate, some technology. Although I am not very technologically savvy, there are many technology devices that I have been operating for a number of years, so I feel comfortable enough to use them for any situations that they may apply for. One of these things is a cell phone. I have had a cell phone for quite awhile and I have used it for many things, and these include texting, calling, applying personal settings and configuring the device when I have needed to do so; however, I do not consider myself to be digitally fluent when it comes to my cell phone because I know there are things I still do not fully understand. Another technology device I would consider myself to be digitally literate with is Microsoft Word.

I have also been using this for years, and this reason has been mostly for school assignments and projects. There are many things that this technology advancement is able to do other than just supply the user with a sheet of paper for typing; however, this is Microsoft Word’s main operation. These are two big technological advances that I found that I use and understand enough about to consider myself to be digitally literate.

What I want to learn is how to be digitally literate in more technology advancements. I feel as if I am in the digitally proficient in many of them, but not quite digitally literate. I would also like to be digitally fluent in some too. That way I can share my knowledge with others and teach people how to operate them to their full potential. What I expect to learn from this class is to learn. I do not have any preference on what I learn because any knowledge is good knowledge if it is used appropriately.

What we need to do to become effective digital learners and leaders is to learn knew skills and to become advanced in these skills well enough to operate technology devices to their full potential. We can do this by working with one another and sharing our knowledge.

Website Link

2 thoughts on “Digital Literacy

  1. Hi Jacob!
    Before doing my research, I had no idea that there was even a difference between digital literacy and fluency. I thought it was interesting that you broke it down even further into proficiency, literacy, and fluency! It great to be able to differentiate between each level. I also have used Microsoft Word quite a bit for school work and feel that I am literate in using both Word and my cell phone. It seems like every day there is some new form of technology that is being created, which makes it challenging to stay up to date and be knowledgeable about using every piece of technology. I want to learn as much new information from this class as well, so that I will be able to share what I know and help my future students become digitally literate.

    Like

    1. Ashlyn,
      It is hard enough to keep up with technology ourselves, and even harder to attempt to teach others about the technology that we barely understand and that will change before the students can firmly grasp it! This why we as educators need to stay on top of our game when it comes to technology. We also need to be efficient in the way that we teach, and, most importantly, we need to prepare our students for the uncontrollable future. Thank you for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

